Check out the AOA conference photo album on Facebook.
Become a friend on Facebook for the latest updates. Coming soon: Confluence 2011: The Video. Thanks to all of the attendees, exhibitors, speakers and friends who helped make the 2011 meeting a success!
Mark your calendars now for AOA 2012 in Daytona Beach, Florida, December 4-6.
Minimum Wage Increases in Several States on January 1
While the Federal minimum wage stands at $7.25 per hour, some states have enacted their own minimum wages standards which may override the federal standard. Some businesses and employees are exempt from minimum wage and overtime pay requirement. We are not going to hazard an opinion on those exemptions because the issues are very complex. State auditors may have a different opinion. If you have any questions about whether a minimum wage or overtime provision applies to your business, we suggest that you consult with competent legal or other qualified counsel with knowledge of your state and federal wage and hour laws. State laws have a maze of special provisions.
Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Vermont and Washington will have new minimum wage requirements on January 1, 2012. The minimum wage in each state for 2012 is provided below with links to the Department of Labor websites in those states. Nevada also may adjust the minimum wage to reflect the CPI. Missouri also has the option to raise the minimum wage but chose not to do so for 2012.
Arizona: $7.65 per hour. The state minimum wage is increased annually based on the CPI. The state tipped wage will also increase.
Colorado: $7.64 per hour on January 1, 2012. The tipped wage increases to $4.62 per hour
Florida: $7.67 an hour, tipped employees will rise to $4.65 an hour.
Montana: $7.65 per hour for full time employees and tipped employees. Businesses which are not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act: $4.00 per hour.
Nevada: $8.25 through July 2012. $7.25 for businesses which provide health insurance. No change approved as yet.
Ohio: $7.70 per hour for non-tipped employees. $3.85 for tipped employees. Businesses grossing less than $283,000 may pay the federal minimum wage.
Oregon: $8.80 per hour. No tip credit in Oregon.
Washington: $9.04 per hour.
Vermont: $8.46 per hour.
For minimum wage laws in other states check out the U.S. Department of Labor website. This site is NOT up to date for 2012, but hopefully has accurate information for states where there are no changes.